Skip to content

Denise Little–Agent!

September 7, 2010

I’m excited to be trying something new, after over thirty years in the book business. I’ve sat on every side of the table in this field, from bookseller to chain book buyer to editor to book packager, and now–I’m an agent.

I’ve got a head full of industry knowlege that’s uncommon for anyone in publishing, simply because I’ve worn so many hats in the the book field. Lots of agents have publishing experience, for example, but I don’t think too many other agents have first-hand inside knowlege of what goes on at the world’s largest bookseller, Barnes & Noble.

I think it gives me an edge in figuring out what will sell that few other agents have.

In addition, I’ve been an author myself. I know exactly what it feels like to submit, then wait for an answer with my heart in my throat for what feels like forever–and sometimes is.

I love working with new writers, but I’m very blunt. If I don’t like something, I’m likely to tell you straight out that I don’t. But if I love something–I’ll tell you that, too, and work my heart out for you.

Best,

Denise

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 7:13 pm

    Yeah! All right! High-five for having a bookseller as an agent!

  2. September 8, 2010 10:56 pm

    Welcome.
    In many ways, I do not envy your job and dealing with the impending (or possibly inprogress) deluge of querys.

    er…mine included 🙂

    • deniselitt permalink*
      September 9, 2010 12:28 am

      Query away. I’m only a new agent with a blank slate for so long. Take advantage of it.

      Denise

  3. September 9, 2010 7:18 pm

    Welcome to the world of agenting, Denise! As you say, you’ve done everything else and it’s time to give authors the benefit of your experience.

    Read long and prosper!

  4. September 10, 2010 4:12 pm

    Denise- I’ve just thrown myself in your query avalanche, too. Have fun digging through it:)
    -Kelly Bryson

  5. September 10, 2010 10:20 pm

    Congratulations on your new endeavor! Some day I just may send you a query, too. In the meantime, I suspect you will be snowed under. Enjoy!

  6. art rein permalink
    February 2, 2011 5:32 pm

    denise, what are your areas of interest? Fiction, pre-teen, YA? thanks

    • Denise Little permalink*
      February 16, 2011 5:16 pm

      I like romance, paranormal, mystery, YA, Christian fiction, and non-fiction.

Leave a Reply

