Skip to content

I caught up on the queries tonight!

September 17, 2010

I’ve gotten through all the thousands of queries, and requested the manuscripts I plan to look at.  I replied to everyone personally.

If you haven’t had a response from me, something got lost in transit.  Resend. 

For tonight, at least, I’m current on queries.  Now, I have a giant beckoning pile of manuscripts to read.  This is going to take longer to get through.  I know it’s maddening to wait, but manuscripts are (duh!) longer than queries.  I”m reading as fast as I can.  Be patient.  I’ll get there.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 2:05 am

    You’re some kind of super-woman to have gotten through all of that so fast. AND replied to all of it!

  2. September 17, 2010 2:22 am

    Thank you for keeping us updated so well! That’s amazing that you got through them all so quickly! Mine must have gotten lost. I just resent.

  3. Barbara Webb permalink
    September 17, 2010 3:08 am

    Yes, thanks for the update. Resent mine as well as it seems to have gone astray.

  4. Jennie permalink
    September 17, 2010 3:36 am

    Just out of curiosity, but after reading the comments in another of your posts, do you suggest someone querying you to mention that the novel is the first in a series? Or should you just leave it at trying to pitch that one novel and save the “it’s the first in a series I’ve got planned out” for any follow up that might happen?

    I’m just wondering what you prefer, since I’ve seen varying suggestions from other agents.

    Also, I LOVE the blog. The posts are great and definitely give us poor writers a lot of useful information and encouragement! Or at least, that’s the impression I get from your blog posts! 🙂

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 17, 2010 4:46 pm

      Mention it’s first in a series. That’s a good selling point.

      Denise

  5. Kaitlyn permalink
    September 17, 2010 4:26 am

    Wow! Definitely a quick turnaround for all the queries. Enjoy the manuscripts!

  6. September 17, 2010 4:36 am

    Wow! I’m impressed!

    Pleasant reading!

    Rick

  7. September 17, 2010 5:04 am

    Super fast turnaround on the queries!

    I have a plan for the manuscript wait… chocolate, chai tea and the occasional salty snacks.

  8. September 17, 2010 6:06 am

    Thousands of queries AND personal replies? It must be a superpower or something. Nice work! :o)

  9. Kate Avison permalink
    September 17, 2010 11:02 am

    Hi, thank you for keeping us updated and so quickly. Have just resent my query to you as it must have gotten lost as I had not received a reply. Many thanks.

  10. Cynthia permalink
    September 17, 2010 1:46 pm

    Denise,

    I love your honesty.

    Thanks for keeping everyone up to date on all your activities. I’m looking forward to hearing from you about my partial. I’m working hard on my next manuscript in the mean time. Enjoy the reading.

  11. trishstewart permalink
    September 17, 2010 2:25 pm

    Yay you for getting caught up! 🙂

    *waits patiently for the ms reads*

    Best of luck finding great books and brand new authors for your list!

  12. September 18, 2010 2:29 pm

    I’m impressed that you got through all it AND you still have time to update your blog with the status. It’s nice to find an agent who gets how anxious aspiring authors are…thanks!

Leave a Reply

