Skip to content

Just for information

September 18, 2010

I don’t know the etiquette for this, but here are some things I’m doing now or in the near future.

I’ve donated an editorial review of 30 pages to NetRoots Nation for their annual auction. Three days to go, and the price was a hundred bucks the last time I looked. It sold, and I’ve done the edit.

I’ve agreed to do the following things:

I’ll be at Sleuthfest (March 3-6, 2011 at the Deerfield Beach Hilton in Deerfield Beach, Florida).

The following month, I’ll be at the Wisconsin Writer’s Institute (April 8-10 , 2011 in Madison).

I’ve also got a gig at one of Dean Smith’s workshops (Feb 24-27, 2011), teaching a short story class.

This is something I’ve done about 6 times, so it’s really a last vestige of my roots at Tekno. But the workshops are really fun. I have a blast doing them. Dean and I work really hard, but the writers who attend actually work harder.

I’m judging the final round of the Mystery category for the
Pikes Peak Writers Conference. It’s a great conference if you haven’t tried it, located in Colorado in the spring.
Denise

ETA: This post has been moved to its own page, so it’ll be easier to find and update.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 2:17 pm

    Is there etiquette for something like this? I don’t know, but I like reading it. Too bad workshops/cons/etc are never near my city. 😉

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 19, 2010 6:53 pm

      I’ll keep posting my appearances. Eventually something will show up near you.

      I’ve been to every state of the Union over the years except Idaho and Utah, so I’m bound to wind up near you.

      Where are you? And what kind of writing do you do?

      When I have time, I’ll do a post on how to find conferences, and I’ll make a point to feature your location.

      • September 19, 2010 9:40 pm

        I do YA fiction and I’m in Sacramento, California. Stuff comes to San Francisco often, I know, but it’s a three hour trip. You would think living in the capital of the state, more things would show up here. 😉

        That would be awesome!

      • Denise Little permalink*
        September 20, 2010 12:39 am

        I looked–there was a writer’s conference in Sacramento in 2008, but you’re right, I can’t find anything local to you now.

        Oh, well, time to get in the car.

        Denise

  2. Jess permalink
    September 19, 2010 4:16 pm

    How far in advance do the workshops usually fill up?
    I’ve been reading some of the stories that I believe came out of one of your short story classes. Very fun. And Inn at the Spanish Head is a great location.

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 19, 2010 6:51 pm

      Honestly, I don’t know. I do know they’ve all been full. I just show up and do the job. Dean does all the bookkeeping.

      Dean usually posts on his website when something is full, so you can tell. He then runs an alternate list so that if somebody drops out, he can bring in the alternates.

      Anyway, email Dean, and he can tell you where they are. The setting is one of the joys of the workshops. We get to work with a panoramic view of the pacific ocean. Fabulous.

  3. September 19, 2010 8:13 pm

    Thanks for posting the information.

  4. Michelle permalink
    September 19, 2010 10:34 pm

    Bring it to NC, Denise!

  5. December 14, 2010 3:05 pm

    Hi Denise,

    Pardon the intrusion, but you e-mail box was full. I haven’t heard anything and I wondered if perhaps you had some questions you wanted to ask regarding our invitation to join the fauculty for the 25th annual NETWO conference, April 29-30, 2011. If so, please send me an e-mail with them. Or, if you will send me your telephone number, I will call you and see if I can answer any questions you might have. My e-mail address is: jimcallan_4@hotmail.com

    We have a good line-up for our faculty, but it would be much better if we could add your name. If your schedule won’t allow you to join us, please drop me an e-mail and tell me.

    Thanks for your time and I hope the holiday season is starting well for you and your family.

    Jim Callan
    NETWO Conference Director
    2011, our 25th annual conference

Leave a Reply

