Skip to content

I’m caught up again.

September 21, 2010

I’ve dug down to the bottom of my emails again. If you haven’t had a note from me about something you sent me, resend.

I have picked up five clients so far. Two are first time writers. Three are multi-published. It looks like my list is going to be a mix of newbies and long-term professionals, probably a bit heavier on newbies than most agents.

I asked Ethan what an ordinary load for an agent was. He said around 50 clients is average.

Too many, and you can’t give clients the attention they deserve.

That’s where I am. Back to reading.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 5:21 pm

    That’s fantastic! Have they already signed? Congrats to you and to them. πŸ™‚

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 22, 2010 1:10 am

      Yes.

      Denise

  2. Mike C. permalink
    September 21, 2010 5:35 pm

    Cheers! Five down and only forty-five to go! Best of luck with the editing and sales! Be sure to let us know the authors and titles as they progress.

  3. Eve Paludan permalink
    September 21, 2010 5:44 pm

    Hi Denise,

    Since I haven’t heard back, I just shot you an e-mail about my requested ms. , The Man Who Fell from the Sky. I look forward to hearing from you. Thanks so much!

    Eve Paludan

  4. erika garduno permalink
    September 21, 2010 5:47 pm

    how many clients are you hoping to get?

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 21, 2010 5:58 pm

      Depends on how much good stuff I find, Probably between 30 and 60.

      If you’re doing the math, that means you have a roughly 10 percent shot at making the cut right now, if I requested your full. Sounds horrible, but it’s actually really good. Most good agents only pick up one or two new clients a year.

  5. Jeff Salyards permalink
    September 21, 2010 5:54 pm

    Congrats, Denise! That’s got to be really exciting, landing your first clients. I hope you continue discovering gems.

  6. September 21, 2010 6:29 pm

    I just resent my ms too. I love this blog! It keeps you so up to date. Congrats to the lucky writers!!

  7. September 21, 2010 6:38 pm

    A big congrats to you and them!

  8. September 21, 2010 6:49 pm

    Congratulations! 10% sounds really good to me πŸ™‚

  9. September 21, 2010 7:03 pm

    Ten percent sounds good to me. I might be holding my breath until October 6th though, but then again I might just use that built up tension to finish my work in progress. πŸ˜‰

  10. Mike C. permalink
    September 21, 2010 7:08 pm

    I’ll take a 10% chance of landing an agent any day… but from my math that would leave you with another 300+ mss to review! You are one hard worker for sure. Can you share the genres you’ve signed already?

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 21, 2010 8:35 pm

      Mystery, romance, YA, and paranormal–but I’m signing books and writers I like, not any particular genres.

  11. Kaitlyn permalink
    September 21, 2010 7:16 pm

    That’s fantastic! I bet they’re all very excited, especially the newbies! If you don’t mind me asking, are you specifically looking for a balance of certain genres within your client list, or are you acquiring what catches your eye and not worrying about the scales? I also wonder what your take on the editing process is. Do you only sign clients whose work is ready to send out or do you enjoy finding a ‘diamond in the rough’ manuscript?

  12. Chris Eberle permalink
    September 21, 2010 8:25 pm

    Thats great and I’m excited for the 5, but I got to admit my stomach is doing hula-hoops while I wait to hear if I make the final cut.

  13. andrewjcooper permalink
    September 21, 2010 9:25 pm

    Congratulations to the lucky five! I’ll try not to check my e-mail *too* much. πŸ˜€

  14. September 21, 2010 9:36 pm

    Oh my gosh, pick me! Haha! You’ve got a lot more reading to do, so I’ll leave you to it.

  15. September 21, 2010 9:56 pm

    ditto, Chris Eberle.

    Nails are down to stubs and I’m outta Pepto.

  16. September 21, 2010 11:14 pm

    Wow…congrats on you and your new clients! I’ll take a 10% chance any day! Love your blog and thanks for keeping us updated.

  17. Jill Steele permalink
    September 21, 2010 11:56 pm

    So the October 6th responses will almost certainly be rejections since you are contacting authors you would like to represent as you decide you like the work.

    Do you anticipate selecting 30 to 60 from the submissions you have now or is that the number of clients you anticipate over a period of time?

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 22, 2010 12:11 am

      Keep in mind new stuff comes in daily. I’ll keep reading, even after I get my initial group of writers.

      So don’t worry.

      This isn’t an ” October 6 or bust” thing.

      I’m planning on calling and sending out rejections on the same day. The exceptions are the ones I know I’m perfect for as an agent. Perfection is rare.

      Denise

      • September 22, 2010 1:40 am

        You rock, as always.

        Best of luck.

        ~Deb

      • Denise Little permalink*
        September 22, 2010 2:53 am

        AWWWW,

        Denise

  18. September 22, 2010 12:01 am

    I just wanted to take the time to say thanks for keeping us all informed. It really shows how dedicated you are to your clients. And it means a lot to all of us waiting on pins and needles. Thanks again.

    Melissa

  19. September 22, 2010 12:21 am

    LOL. October 6th or bust! I was going to write that on my mirror but I guess I’ll have to come up with a new catch phrase. Very interesting. I never knew agents had so many clients.

  20. September 22, 2010 12:43 am

    I want to echo what everyone else has said. *Thank you* for keeping us all in the loop. It’s exciting to watch the process.

    Congratulations to you and your new clients as well!

  21. September 22, 2010 5:35 am

    I’ll carry on as best I can with crossed fingers until the October 6th date nears. Ten percent is pretty good, but I’m still nervous! I wish more agents posted status updates like this πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  22. September 22, 2010 8:05 am

    I feel silly for resending my MS after reading this. It’s so obvious you were talking about queries (at least, it is now), but I guess that’s what I get for being awake at 3 a.m.

    I’m going to reiterate what everyone else is saying: Thanks for keeping us updated and congratulations to everyone you’ve signed so far!

  23. September 22, 2010 12:11 pm

    Thanks for the running commentary. Like everyone else, I really appreciate that you are taking the time & energy to keep us updated, especially with a move underway and all the submissions you have committed yourself to reading. It’s mesmerizing to read your comments on how the process unfolds. You even sound like you’re enjoying the process and have successfully found your first few clients. I’m sure you will have a wonderful career as an agent ahead of you.

  24. September 23, 2010 7:08 pm

    Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to update.

  25. October 3, 2010 2:58 pm

    Hey there, thanks for info.I googled this issue and got only this page.Really helped me ! Farewell, Adam

Leave a Reply

