Skip to content

Update

September 22, 2010

I’m current on responding to Queries. If you sent a query by last night, you should have heard from me.

I have about 450 manuscripts yet to read. I have signed 6 clients so far. For the most part, I’m holding off on responding until October 6. That’s when I think I’ll be through the bulk of the material. I’m not, in general, responding to manuscripts until I have a full picture of everything I have to choose from.

I’m moving, so if takes longer to get through the pile than I plan, I”ll keep people posted here. I’m fast, but moving makes me crazy.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 5:24 pm

    I hope the weather wherever you are cooperates during your move – not too hot, not pouring.

    Anxiously waiting, like those 449-ish other people are. πŸ˜‰ Worth the wait, and I think others will agree with me a couple weeks is way better than several months we’d get elsewhere.

    Good luck on your move!

  2. September 22, 2010 6:07 pm

    That is a big move. Welcome back to Texas!

  3. Jill Steele permalink
    September 22, 2010 6:08 pm

    Texas seems random since the agency has a New York address. I assumed the move was to New York.

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 22, 2010 8:18 pm

      Ethan said I could live anywhere. I was raised in Hoston, my family’s there, I went to college there (Rice University), my first several jobs in the book industry were there (I managed stores for B. Dalton). So I’m moving to Houston. I lived in NYC for over a decade. Nice place to visit, but God Awful expensive. I’m starting a new business up from scratch–you probably know this in general, but haven’t thought about it in connection to me. I don’t get paid unless I sell your work. Publishers pay slowly. I’m guessing that I’ll be without a reliable income for at least a year. So finding a cheap spot to live is a part of the plan. Texas is cheap. My house in Green Bay is a three story Victorian and costs a bomb. Since I’m selling it and moving, why not move home?

      Thus the move to Houston.

      I may eventually move back to New York. But I need to get established in the biz before I can afford it.

      Houston’s got nice direct flights to New York, plus I’ve got phone, fax, and email, so keeping in touch is easy. Green Bay is so tiny it takes all day to get anywhere.

      Again, since I’m moving, why not maximize the benefits of where I live?

      Besides, I’m tired of shovelling snow all winter. Houston gets snow about once a decade.

      • Jill Steele permalink
        September 22, 2010 11:47 pm

        Not random at all then. Makes perfect sense. I didn’t know whether new agents are paid a small stipend until you get work sold. Glad I’m no longer in private practice — I can sympathize.

  4. September 22, 2010 6:20 pm

    My friend just moved to Houston this year. She loves it! She says everyone’s super nice there. πŸ™‚ Hope you like it too once you get settled in!

  5. Eve Paludan permalink
    September 22, 2010 6:44 pm

    You’re going to love the authors in the RWA chapters there (and lots of other writing groups, too), the warmer winters, and the proximity to Galveston (beach!). I am so very excited for you, Denise! I’ve been to Houston and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of great authors there will be thrilled that you’ll be a local and plenty of Texas hospitality should be extended your way.

    • September 22, 2010 6:50 pm

      And don’t forget to visit Fredericksburg once you are settled. πŸ˜‰

  6. September 22, 2010 6:57 pm

    Great time of year to move to a warmer climate πŸ™‚ Good luck with the move.

  7. September 22, 2010 7:14 pm

    Good luck on the move! I hope it goes well for you. It’s funny because I was born in WI and I’ve also lived right outside of Houston, TX. LOL.

    It’s worth the wait for us! A couple weeks is much less than the months we wait sometimes.

  8. Chris Eberle permalink
    September 22, 2010 7:21 pm

    Kelly’s right about a few being better than months or years. I just wish I could get rid of the butterflies the size those old Flying Fortresses.

  9. Michelle permalink
    September 22, 2010 8:25 pm

    I can’t imagine a move that big! Jeez, I can’t move even to another town without it being a major haul much less a different state. I’m blown away at how you are handeling the move and a blossoming career. Maybe we should clone you!

  10. September 22, 2010 10:49 pm

    I noted October 6 down on my calendar, came back and you’d struck out the text on your post. Did you change your mind on your plan?

    (And how great to get to move to somewhere with family, where you want to be!)

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 22, 2010 11:13 pm

      I don’t know how that happened.

      I went down to get something to eat–I think the cat may have edited me. I fixed it.

      Denise

      • September 22, 2010 11:18 pm

        Ha! My cats try edit me all the time. Usually seems to involve excessive use of the space bar, however…

      • September 23, 2010 2:35 am

        Ha! I was wondering about that too!

        And my cats like to edit as well… >.<

    • amanda permalink
      September 23, 2010 8:43 pm

      excellent! october 6 is my birthday, so an offer of representation would be an EXCELLENT gift. guaranteed to fit, matches any outfit, won’t make me gain any weight…plus, free shipping! : )
      all kidding aside, you’ve made a lot of writers very happy these last few weeks. hope the move is easy and productive for you.

  11. Sally permalink
    September 22, 2010 11:00 pm

    (Y’all want to know the real reason she’s moving to Texas? To be closer to all the really *good* writers . . . . )

    • David permalink
      September 22, 2010 11:37 pm

      Then she’s be coming to Los Angeles.

  12. Michelle permalink
    September 22, 2010 11:42 pm

    And leaving really quick!

  13. Louise permalink
    September 22, 2010 11:45 pm

    Or heading back to the big, bold Apple…snow shovels and all…(wink.)
    Best of luck on your new digs!

  14. September 23, 2010 12:01 am

    Many of the commenters here have fantastic blogs and websites. I bet you still have a lot of good manuscripts in that pile.

  15. Denise Little permalink*
    September 23, 2010 12:03 am

    Are you kidding? I’m blessed. Blessed.

    Denise

  16. September 23, 2010 1:17 am

    Denise, what you’re doing here, and your vigilance with this new venture, is incredible. I recently came off a nine-month waiting period on a full request from another agent. I hadn’t queried anyone else. I emailed him after nine months and let him know it would now become a simultaneous submission. He replies that he doesn’t want to hold me back because he hadn’t read the material yet. That was two weeks ago. So when a writer friend of mine recommended you, I was admittedly reticent. But the proof is in the pudding. Even if you aren’t interested in my novel, “The Legend of Tom”, it feels good knowing that there is an agent out there with the energy, drive, and passion to take care of these budding superstars.

    Peace,

    Andrew Bowen

  17. Katie Guzman permalink
    September 23, 2010 2:36 am

    I love Houston! However, I’ll take my amazing afternoon sea breezes coming in off of the Atlantic in beautiful Northern Florida. No shoveling snow for me…EVER! Hope your move is successful!

    ~Katie

  18. Cynthia permalink
    September 23, 2010 12:39 pm

    Denise,

    I think it’s great you are moving home. Nothing makes change easier than knowing you have family around to support you. Enjoy the move and being able to enjoy your family more often.

    As for the 450 manuscripts to go, pace yourself and enjoy. I hope you love mine.

  19. September 23, 2010 7:04 pm

    450 manuscripts to read! Wow. Good luck with reading and your move.

  20. September 24, 2010 12:48 am

    Is anyone else craving an update right about now, or is it just me? Maybe I should just enjoy 30 Rock and stop thinking about it.

    • Michelle permalink
      September 24, 2010 2:41 am

      Not alone, Lauren. I have developed a bad case of OCD.

      • September 24, 2010 3:34 am

        If you mean OCD, as in refreshing the blog page every five minutes… then, yeah, Michelle, I’ve got it too. Oct 6 is only 2 weeks away, but it feels really far right now.

    • David permalink
      September 24, 2010 2:45 am

      Oooh, 30 Rock! I forgot it was on. Thanks.

      • September 24, 2010 3:36 am

        It’s good stuff, believe me. But Outsourced was terrible!

      • David (aka Dr. Awesome) permalink
        September 24, 2010 5:43 am

        Offensive is fine when it’s funny. Outsourced wasn’t. Sorry to hijack, Denise.

Leave a Reply

