Skip to content

Daily Update

September 24, 2010

I’m caught up on queries again. If you’ve sent a query or a manuscript, I’ve replied and acknowledged reciept of it.

If you haven’t heard from me, resend.

About the move. I’m packing in earnest now. There’s a dumpster arriving tomorrow morning, and I’m renting a truck on Monday so I can put stuff in storage. I’m moving from a big Victorian into two rooms, so this is going to be insane.

If I sound crazy in the next few days, just wait me out.

I’ll be handling emails in the middle of the night after packing. The typos will be intense. Forgive me. I figure you’d rather get emails in the middle of the night and misspelled than not at all.

Denise

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Emil permalink
    September 24, 2010 4:16 am

    “The typos will be intense.”

    This made me smile. Good luck with the move.

  2. September 24, 2010 4:19 am

    Hang in there. Good luck with the move!

  3. September 24, 2010 4:36 am

    Please be careful during your move. I popped my knee out during mine and it’s never been the same since.

    Good luck!

    PS Pack the alcohol last. πŸ™‚

  4. September 24, 2010 5:19 am

    I’ve had my share of moves, so I sympathize. The hardest part is knowing *something* will get broken along the way and trying to figure out which item to protect with your life. I can’t imagine how you’re getting ANY work done, but my best guess is your passion is showing through. πŸ˜‰

  5. Eve Paludan permalink
    September 24, 2010 5:27 am

    All my best wishes for your safe and smooth relocation adventure.

    Just click your ruby slippers together three times and keep saying, “There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home…”

  6. September 24, 2010 5:43 am

    Two rooms? But I thought everything was supposed to be *bigger* in Texas πŸ˜‰

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 24, 2010 8:13 pm

      It would be, if I wasn’t cheaping out. I’m getting my expenses as low as possible while I work to build my client base. I’m going to be the most motivated agent in New York City. It’s scary going from a salaried position to being reliant on commissions for my income. And at the rate publishers pay (people jump for joy if they manage to pay 120 days after invoicing) I’ll be incomeless until some time next year. That’s if all goes well, and I start selling stuff rapidly. I know I have a good eye, but I’m not expecting miracles to occur here. I’m betting my future on my ability to find great material and sell it–but I’ll be starving for my art for at least 6 months.

      • amanda permalink
        September 24, 2010 8:53 pm

        that would be a pretty terrifying leap to make. but i guess a lot of this business is based on bravery, isn’t it?

  7. September 24, 2010 5:46 am

    Oh man, hate moving! Good luck. I hope the move goes well.

  8. Michelle permalink
    September 24, 2010 10:32 am

    Be safe wonder woman.

  9. September 24, 2010 12:01 pm

    Sounds like a healthy lifestyle change. You’re really going to have to minimize. In my experience, I don’t even miss most of the stuff that ends up not making the move. And something always gets lost. I do wish I’d moved my daughters’ dollhouse made out of old apple crates, and I wish I knew what happened to my bike club colors, but even that was just stuff.

  10. September 24, 2010 12:16 pm

    Good luck to you! I’ve moved (via pick-up truck once, and then a U-Haul the other time) from OR to FL and from FL to CO, so interstate moves are wretched. Get there safely!

  11. Cynthia permalink
    September 24, 2010 12:21 pm

    Denise,

    Your doing a great job juggling everything at once. Try not to stress to much and remember slow and steady wins the race, and you are making great head way.

    Can’t wait to hear from you.

  12. September 24, 2010 1:21 pm

    “Happy moving” is an oxymoron, of course, but it’s the thought that counts. πŸ™‚

    ~Deb

    • September 24, 2010 1:56 pm

      Good luck with the move! I’ve moved 9 times in the past 15 years including a move to Japan and back to the USA, so I ABSOLUTELY sympathize. Just think ahead to that first night in your new place. πŸ™‚

      Best wishes,
      Tina

  13. Barbara Webb permalink
    September 24, 2010 1:54 pm

    Moving is such a torment. Every time I do it, I hope never to do it again. But with my husband finishing his degree soon, we’ve got at least one more move to look forward to.

    Last time we did it, we hired movers to come pack the U-Haul in Kansas and unpack it in Arkansas. Not horribly expensive when it’s just the local guys for a few hours at each end, and I swear it was the best money we’ve ever spent. Especially when our school-year-tied moves always happen in July. Yech.

  14. September 24, 2010 2:19 pm

    Wow, busy busy busy. I’m guessing you won’t be taking on any clients today (maybe? Hopefully? Please do :3 ) October 6th seems so far away…

    Don’t stress too much about moving. As Mary Poppins would say, find the fun and SNAP! the job’s a game. Of course that may only work if the items fly into place on their own.

  15. September 24, 2010 2:47 pm

    Good luck with the move. I’m in awe of how much you’re getting done so fast! Hope the move goes smoothly.

  16. Steve Schatz permalink
    September 24, 2010 3:13 pm

    Do not give in to the temptation of looking longingly at gasoline and matches.
    As for spelling – a little poem (not mine, but one I use with my students about the dangers of relying on spell checkers)

    Spelling Checker
    I halve a spelling checker,
    It came width my pea see.
    It plane Leigh Marx four my revue
    Mistakes eye dew knot sea.
    Eye strike a key and type a word
    And weight four it two say
    Weather eye am wrong oar write
    It show me strait aweigh
    As soon as a mist ache is maid
    It nose bee fore two long
    And eye can put the era rite
    Its rarely ever wrong.
    I’ve scent this massage threw it,
    And I’m shore your pleased too no
    Its letter prefect in every weigh;
    My checker tooled me sew.

  17. September 24, 2010 4:25 pm

    I would hope no one would fault you for spelling, and seriously, I think we would all understand if you took a few days just to focus on moving. Although, I suspect reading manuscripts and queries takes your mind off of the huge task, and makes moving all the more worth it because of it.

    A quick tip from being in Dallas not too long ago, circle around the metroplex if you can, they are now in the middle of construction and it is a complete nightmare.

    Much luck with the move!

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 24, 2010 8:14 pm

      Thanks!

      Denise

  18. September 24, 2010 4:38 pm

    Best of luck with the move. Will talk to you after you’re settled!

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 24, 2010 8:15 pm

      Yep. I plan to hit the ground running once I’m moved.

      Denise

  19. September 24, 2010 11:59 pm

    Hint from the files of hungry writers everywhere:
    Starving artist + Ramen noodles = Not-s0-starving artist.

    • September 25, 2010 9:59 am

      true, and if you add an egg and some frozen veggies, it’s almost like a real meal πŸ˜‰

  20. September 25, 2010 5:02 pm

    Much luck on the move. Take your time, don’t over do it and enjoy the change. I’m sure it will be great for you in the end. Your energy on queries still has me in awe. I’m all for waiting till you have time. Be safe and enjoy. πŸ™‚

  21. trishstewart permalink
    September 28, 2010 8:40 pm

    Hope the move went well, Denise.

    • Denise Little permalink*
      September 28, 2010 9:26 pm

      It’s ongoing.

      I’ll be settled in a week or two.

      Denise

  22. Thabo Nkomo permalink
    November 16, 2010 7:35 pm

    Hi Denise,

    I sent my query on October 1, but I know that you have been busy with the move to Houston. Should I resend, or should I just figure that you got it and wait for your response?

    Best,

    Thabo

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 16, 2010 10:13 pm

      I got it.

      Denise

Leave a Reply

