Skip to content

Wednesday Update

October 6, 2010

Well, it’s the 6th,

And I’m still packing and still reading.

I HAVE NOT started sending out responses.

I did finally finish packing all the dishes and most of the books. Of the house’s 16 rooms, 7 are completely empty.

I still have the bedrooms, the basement and the garage to do.

The movers come on October 12. I should be in Houston on October 16.

I’m still reading late into the night after spending all day packing.

I’m really tired and cranky, so I decided to wait on sending out responses, because tired and cranky can interfere with good decisions.

For all of you joking about me learning Sanskrit, I was an English, Chemistry Classics major in college. I’ve already learned Sanskrit once, and completely forgotten it. Also Ancient Greek, Classical and Vulgar Latin, and Spanish. The Latin and the Spanish, I can kinda sorta remember after a week or two of hearing them a lot. I was really fluent in those at one time in my life, so they stuck better.

I’m working my way through the submissions. I’ll get to the bottom of the pile as soon as I can.

And I’ll send out responses when I’m rested, well-fed, and happy.
Because you deserve that.

Denise

47 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 11:14 pm

    Thank you for the update. Sorry about the stress of the move- and really appreciate you waiting to send responses.

    Am I the only one who thinks it might be cool to get a reply in Vulgar Latin? πŸ™‚

    • October 6, 2010 11:24 pm

      unless is — Vestri fabula est repletus per fimus.

    • Denise Little permalink*
      October 6, 2010 11:32 pm

      Sum mobilus in mobile. Maiora premunt. Mala tempora currunt.

      • October 7, 2010 12:27 am

        mens agitat molem.

      • andrewjcooper permalink
        October 7, 2010 12:37 am

        Cur tu arbor ascende?

  2. October 6, 2010 11:16 pm

    16 rooms?! What is it, a hotel?

    • Denise Little permalink*
      October 6, 2010 11:23 pm

      It’s a three story Victorian built in 1886,

      I was planning on turning it into a bed and breakfast when I retired. I’m about two miles from Lambeau Field, so I knew I could fill the place with Packer fans at least 10 weekends a year.

      Denise

      • October 7, 2010 6:47 pm

        Funny – I read this last night before I went to bed. Then I dreamed that you posted about your house and showed us pictures of all 16 rooms. The house stood between two skyscrapers and the rooms were furnished like a designer showhome, with jewel tones. I particularly recall a gold chaise with a fuschia throw.

        No – I have no idea what it means…

  3. October 6, 2010 11:18 pm

    We’re in the midst of moving and packing as well, so I feel your pain. After spending what feels like an eternity sorting items myself, I don’t envy the added task of reading so many submissions.

    You are doing a phenomenal job! I’m sure everyone understands if responses are pushed back. Keep up the amazing work πŸ™‚

  4. October 6, 2010 11:32 pm

    Thanks for the update and for NOT replying when you’re grouchy. πŸ™‚ Keep up the good work in whatever language you do it in.

  5. October 6, 2010 11:52 pm

    hope the move goes well. i have family in san antonio and they say winter is heaven. summer is hell. good luck with such a huge change. you said your moving to a small place? what a big change. it would be weird going from such a motel to a cottage lol. we understand if you go crazy and burn the computer.

  6. Cynthia permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:54 pm

    Thanks for the update Denise.
    Sorry it’s taking longer to pack and get through the reading then you originally thought.
    Life happens we’ll wait for you.
    I hope everything goes smoothly for you on the 12th.

  7. October 6, 2010 11:54 pm

    That is a huge house, wow. No wonder there’s so much packing and sorting to be done!

    Thank you for the update, and, I agree – non-grouchy updates are a good thing. πŸ˜‰ I hope the rest of the packing process goes smoothly.

  8. Christina permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:12 am

    I think your language studies just made me salivate. I took several years of Latin too, but I couldn’t translate the back of a dollar bill if someone had a gun to my head.

    Thank you for taking your time in making your decisions. I’ve heard of so many agents copy/pasting the form reject after ruminating for all of a minute, so your care is appreciated.

  9. Mike permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:19 am

    Denise,

    I know you’re swamped, but wanted to let you know I sent you and email to inform you I received an offer of rep yesterday. I then received another an hour later. Not sure if you saw that email. Its subject header starts with OFFER OF REPRESENTATION. Thought this might be a better place to notify you, since I see you posted this entry today. Cheers!

  10. October 7, 2010 12:21 am

    Thanks for the update! I completely understand the stress of moving, having done so myself more times than I care to remember. Take all the time you need.

  11. October 7, 2010 12:42 am

    One week earlier and we could have entertained you at this weekend’s Houston Writers’ Guild’s Conference. Much more fun than packing!

    • Denise Little permalink*
      October 7, 2010 3:25 am

      Next year….

      • R.J. Rosatte permalink
        October 7, 2010 7:30 pm

        Hey, I’ve got friends in Houston! When is the conference? Our Author’s Convention is in August in Toronto. I only live 112 miles east of there, but I’ve never been! Too busy, jusst like Denise! Keep smilin, everyone! RJ

  12. October 7, 2010 1:10 am

    Other things NOT to do when you’re tired and cranky:
    get a haircut
    phone your mother-in-law, boss or that mildly annoying neighbor
    decide honesty is the best policy (these last 2 best not done in tandem)

    Moving is awesome. Packing…not so much. Hang in there. Thanks for waiting till the mood is right.

  13. Jennie permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:17 am

    Ugh, I’d probably go crazy. Then again, I’m also a packrat with two kids. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the status update on responses and your move! Good luck on the packing and the eventual unpacking.

    Eat, Drink, and be Happy! πŸ™‚

  14. Enigma permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:30 am

    Don’t worry, take your time. Get some rest. Moving is very hard. I hope everything goes well for you when the movers come. πŸ˜‰

  15. October 7, 2010 1:37 am

    Thanks for the update! May your move be uneventful and soon forgotten as you settle into your new home.

  16. October 7, 2010 1:52 am

    We moved two weeks ago and are still in turmoil, so I sympathize easily. I can barely read the clock at night, much less an inbox full of manuscripts. I’ll wait patiently.

  17. October 7, 2010 3:12 am

    I wish I could have gotten in on this Latin thing, but I haven’t taken it since middle school… that was a decade ago. Time flies, I tell ya! Except when you’re waiting for a ms response…

    But what’s a couple more days? Take your time, Denise, and I can’t wait to hear from you :3

  18. Leigh permalink
    October 7, 2010 6:22 am

    You already learned Sanskrit? Why does that make you cooler?
    I don’t know and don’t care, it just does ;p.

    -Leigh

    • Jeff Salyards permalink
      October 7, 2010 1:55 pm

      I barely speak Pig Latin, so I’m always impressed by people with linguistic skill.

    • Denise Little permalink*
      October 7, 2010 3:55 pm

      And forgot it totally. Makes it worse somehow.

      • Jeff Salyards permalink
        October 7, 2010 6:11 pm

        Not-So-Famous quote:

        “It is better to have learned and forgotten, than never to have learned at all. I think. Wait. What was the question? Who the heck are you?”

  19. October 7, 2010 11:03 am

    Oh man, I’m so jealous you know all those languages! That’s awesome!
    So you’re packing by yourself. 😦 I’m sorry. I hope things go smoothly for you. Thanks for all these updates. They keep the paranoia at bay. LOL

    • Denise Little permalink*
      October 7, 2010 3:55 pm

      Mom’s up here helping me. I have lots of friends popping in and out.

      I’m not alone. But only I can decide what to toss, what to store, and what to bring along.

      So I’m running ragged.

      Denise

  20. jmkirk permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:39 pm

    Very much appreciate the consideration but with all the work you are doing I think you deserve it more! : )

  21. Angela permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:03 pm

    Oh my goodness! I love coming here for the updates, but I have to admit, some of the comments are a bonus (so hilarious)! Now, if the witty comments are any indication of the writing, you do have your work cut out for you Denise ;o)

    • October 7, 2010 7:49 pm

      Angela, I’m also in the “come for the updates, stay for the comments” camp. What a fun group of people!

      And Denise, thank you so much for the updates. I can’t imagine trying to read that much and pack to move *and* downsize from a 16-room house to a 2-3 bedroom place… eek!

      • October 7, 2010 9:07 pm

        Downsizing can be depressing, but it’s also liberating (after the fact). After my last move, I swear — all I really need is a backpack with some clothes, my laptop, and my vizsla Sophie. Of course, she’ll need her 300 toys, but that’s her.

  22. October 7, 2010 4:44 pm

    Oh cool, you’re not alone. That’s good. Hope you all get a TON accomplished. I’ve been helping my sister move so I feel a little bit of your pain. A tiny, tiny bit because I just moved a storage shed. Can’t imagine a 16 room house! Yikes! LOL

  23. Eve Paludan permalink
    October 7, 2010 8:23 pm

    I like moving. Each time we move, I have less and less stuff. After 8 moves in 23 years, I am down to my clothes, two laptops, and a rolling desk chair in my work city. I learned from my (adult) daughter, the minimalist, how to unclutter my life and go bravely forward with less stuff. It is a very freeing feeling — once you move, you’re going to feel that euphoric thrill of “less is more.” It’s positively exhilarating.

    p.s. I look forward to that life-changing phone call πŸ˜‰

    All My Best,
    Eve

    • October 8, 2010 1:29 am

      Eve, my wife and I are moving into our 17th house in 26 years. Each time, we sell stuff, throw stuff away, and give stuff to Goodwill or Salvation Army. And two to three years later, we do it again. Where does it all come from?

      Robb

      • Eve Paludan permalink
        October 8, 2010 5:29 pm

        Hi Robb,
        In my universe, it comes from the same place to which I send it when I want to release it, back to the sea of humanity to be used again and again until it is dust: Goodwill, Salvation Army, thrift stores, yard sales, relatives, Freecycle.org.

        Except for underwear, socks, and shoes, I don’t think of acquisition as “buying” stuff. It’s more like renting it. πŸ˜‰
        Eve

  24. C. Hedge permalink
    October 7, 2010 9:28 pm

    Dear Denise,
    From one who has moved too often, who once found we packed a bag of garbage and threw away my grandpa’s writing….rest well! Besides, the anticipation is good for us. We get bursts of adrenaline knowing our writing is in your hands, even if it is on the stack in the corner.
    Sincerely,
    CJHedge

  25. Anonymous permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:56 am

    As one of the legion of writers who submitted a manuscript, I commend you on your unselfish attitude and sensitivity towards others. You are a rare orchid in the mountain of commonplace. Bless you.

  26. October 8, 2010 1:26 am

    We’re in the midst of packing too. It’s such fun. Movers come Monday to haul our stuff from DC to Phoenix. Then a 4-day drive.

    Best of luck with the move. Tell Texas I said hello (I’m a displaced Texan).

    Robb

  27. October 8, 2010 3:40 am

    Absolutely HATE moving! 12 houses/apartments in 6 countries on 3 continents in the past 12 years! We’ve been in our current place for 3 years! Hardly know how to handle it!

    Hang in there….

  28. Liz Pierce permalink
    October 8, 2010 4:00 am

    Take your time, Denise.
    Breathe!

    No worries.
    L

  29. October 8, 2010 11:18 am

    Denise,

    Following your dream is very inspirational!

    I’m sending you stamina energy and best witches for a continued smooth moving process.*

    Peace and blessings to all,
    Cyndi

    *This message is both sincere and blatant suckupery.

  30. October 8, 2010 2:20 pm

    I don’t know how you do it. Moving is very, very stressful! I can’t imagine having such a huge workload on top of all that packing and sorting. Good luck with everything!

  31. December 9, 2010 3:59 pm

    About time! Someone with some information on this. You’d think considering how popular Comic Book Adaptations are nowadays, some information would actually be pretty easy to find. Apparently not. Anyway, thanks for this! I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

