Skip to content

Friday Update

October 8, 2010

I haven’t checked email in two days. I’m behind on everything. 1600 messages in my email are waiting.

But we’re almost packed.

I’ve got a few dishes we’re using, the clothes, and the stuff in the basement and garage left to go through.

It’s getting doable.

Another week or 10 days and my life will be sane again.

Then I can be a full-time agent instead of a stevedore.

Looking forward to it.

Denise

25 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 5:28 pm

    Not much longer. Amazing how much you’ve accomplished so far. Hope you’re keeping yourself well-rested and well-fed through all of this!

  2. Mike C. permalink
    October 8, 2010 7:08 pm

    stevedore… too funny. I actually used that word in an early draft but a couple readers in my first peer group said it was “too old wordly” and that they had to look it up. Too bad you weren’t in my peer group, you could have set them straight! I dropped it from my ms awhile back… too bad, I think you would have gotten a kick out of seeing it with your move going on. Don’t forget to take deep breath and relax for a moment.

  3. October 8, 2010 7:16 pm

    Hello Denise

    I sympathize with your moving experience. Sounds like an excellent topic for a book. Hummm, have to think of that for a while. The main protagonist is strong and full of energy, however, the plot is weak…needs conflict. Wait, I see it now. You have pressure from all of the unread emails sitting in your inbox. Add a new boss who is eager for you to begin working at your new job and a protagonist who has begun pulling hair out in big clumps. Maybe a Chapter or Picture Book, for MG or younger readers. The proposal would be a hard sell. 🙂

  4. Leigh Jenner permalink
    October 8, 2010 7:19 pm

    I noticed that packing and working a full time job is like juggling chainsaws. It seems like a bad idea before you learn and after you start, it take too much energy to and patience to do well. Then you chop off a finger and go to the–sorry, my imagination was getting away from me there.

    At least, that was the way it seemed to me when I was moving while working and going to school.

    But I’m glad there’s an end in sight! You must be relieved too :).

    -Leigh

  5. Cynthia permalink
    October 8, 2010 8:17 pm

    Denise,

    Try not to stress out. You have our backing. Are you driving to TX? I believe you said the movers were coming Monday and you’ll be in TX on the 16th. I don’t envy the drive if you do, it’s a long one. Flying is more relaxing and gives you time to read, or sleep. Sleep is always good too and well deserved. Okay, back to my next manuscript.

    • October 8, 2010 8:25 pm

      Good going, Denise! I did what you’re doing (downsizing) 15 years ago. It was no fun. Not just the work and the decisions, but the emotional pull to the past years and the memories! Still–with it comes a whole new world to enjoy.

    • Leigh Jenner permalink
      October 8, 2010 10:57 pm

      When I moved back to California from South Carolina, I drove with my mom. The trip really isn’t all that bad. I think if it had been done during this time of year I would have really enjoyed it. I moved in December, the day after Christmas. It was cold and rainy the whole way. While I love the rain, it would get a little scary :).

      Best of luck with the trip Denise! I know you’ll probably love it if you like looking at trees (and road and cars :p).

      -Leigh

  6. Danielle permalink
    October 8, 2010 9:36 pm

    I second the sleep comment. After having moved twice within the last 6 years, from a small house to a larger house to a smaller house again, I definitely feel your pain. My thoughts are with you. If you are driving to TX, I wish you a relaxing and speedy trip.

  7. October 9, 2010 12:20 am

    You are already like super woman, so don’t worry about getting behind on queries or reading. Two weeks ago I received a response on a query which I sent at the beginning of this February, so being a few days behind is still super fantastic. The average agent seems to respond in about a month–if at all. Good luck on the moving and enjoy the reading once you get time (don’t rush yourself). 😉

  8. October 9, 2010 1:15 am

    Give yourself time to handle everything without being overwhelmed. The e-mails and submissions will be there when you get to them. And you’ll need to be in the right frame of mind to deal with them well.

    1600 e-mails? No wonder so many agents stop responding to everything, some I imagine regretfully and some gleefully.

  9. October 9, 2010 1:27 am

    You’re almost done packing. Yay! But then you have to unpack. Boo! And how are you going to pick 30-60 clients out of all those submissions?

    Definitely sucks to be you right now ;P

    Just make sure you get enough sleep and hydrate yourself. And eat some cake– it keeps the crankies away 🙂

  10. R.J. Rosatte permalink
    October 9, 2010 2:10 am

    Hi, Denise; What a job you’re tackling! If you’re driving down to Texas, here’s a hint. When you get to Texarkana, take US 59 south all the way through Houston. It cuts miles off the Interstate route and is 4 lane most of the way. Lots of nice towns and villages in the Big Piney ( as east Texas is called) and lots of chances to stop and rest (and no rattle snakes in the rest areas!) Enjoy the trip! Hoping to hear from you when you’re all unloaded, readjusted and relaxed. RJ

  11. October 9, 2010 2:51 am

    Yay! I am not envious, that is for sure. I think I hate moving more than anything in the world. Well, maybe not…but it’s pretty darned close.

  12. October 9, 2010 4:38 pm

    Denise,

    Just want to say thanks for your “Publishing 101” section. I have a novella coming out in March 2011 by Rebel Satori Press and the information you’ve shared regarding what one can expect in publishing has been candid and timely.

    Thanks again and good luck with the move.

    Andrew

  13. Jeff Salyards permalink
    October 9, 2010 6:08 pm

    Moving is like banging your head against the wall. It feels so good when you finally stop. Of course, I’m not really in the habit of mistreating my head like that. I’ve only done it a couple of times, and even then it was mostly a one-off, not repeated banging. So I guess what I’m saying is I have no idea what I’m talking about. Never mind.

    • Debra Anastasia permalink
      October 9, 2010 9:37 pm

      Jeff, you are cracking me up. Do you have a website or blog? A picture of the dents you have made with your head banging one-offs?

    • October 10, 2010 6:11 pm

      I would say that moving is like learning an instrument: It takes forever when you begin, is confusing as crap, and you just wanna drown it in a lake and hope it doesn’t float back up like the witch it is. And then after 14 years you realize all that hard work has paid off and then… um… you have to buy a better, more expensive instrument, it’s still confusing as crap, and you just wanna drown it in a lake and hope it doesn’t float back up like the witch it is.

      There is no good comparison to moving, is there?

      • Denise Little permalink*
        October 10, 2010 6:53 pm

        Sure there is a moving analogue–marathon running. You sign up for it, and it looks doable. You get ready, but it’s never enough. Then D-day gets here. You try and you try and you try, and you think you can’t go on, and it hurts, then it hurts more, and you want to quit so badly. But you know you have to finish. And it turns into a slog where it’s just one foot after another. Finally you stumble over the finish line. Exhausted, sometimes vomiting from the stress, and hurting all over. But it’s done. After a week or two, when the sore muscles heal and the bones aren’t aching so much and the blisters have crusted over, you look back and thank God you survived it. And you swear (or at least I do) that you’ll never, ever, ever do anything like that again. Ever.

        I’ve only done one marathon.

        I’ve moved (as an adult) 8 times. Each time I swear it’s the last.

        The marathon vow I stuck to. But the moving just keeps getting neccessary.

        Denise

      • October 10, 2010 7:49 pm

        Oh, see, I would have never thought of the marathon thing. I don’t run. For any reason. Ever.

      • Jess permalink
        October 10, 2010 10:05 pm

        Like writing a novel and then trying to get it published. I see what you’re doing here.

      • amanda permalink
        October 11, 2010 3:02 am

        i would say that moving is like my ex-husband: a giant pain in the ass.

      • October 11, 2010 10:43 am

        Between the years of 2001 and 2009, I moved seven times, not including back and forth from my dorm through college. Seven times in eight years. If there’s anything I loathe in this world, moving is at the top of my list.

  14. Jamie V. permalink
    October 11, 2010 5:36 pm

    Denise,
    I can relate. I am moving to New York City from Minnesota in a month. Good luck in your move and I hope you enjoy the warmer weather in Texas.

    • Denise Little permalink*
      October 14, 2010 4:00 pm

      You’ll love New York City. But be prepared. The NYC government acts like winter is a grand surprise every year. Snow removal is patchy at best, salting iffy, and the sidewalks the problem of the proprietors, not the cioty.

      Denise

  15. Jamie V. permalink
    October 14, 2010 8:07 pm

    Thanks for the advice. Thankfully I won’t have to drive, but i will get boots with really good traction. I have slipped on many sidewalks in my day don’t want to keep up the trend. Again best luck with your move and thanks for the blog.

    Jamie V.

Leave a Reply

