Skip to content

I’m in Houston!

October 26, 2010

I got safely to Houston with the U-Haul and the car. Now I’m unloading and adapting again to the heat. It’s 90 degrees. There’s a cold front coming through tomorrow, so I’ll make it.

I’m working in the afternoons, and unpacking mornings and evenings when it’s cooler.

I’m going through manuscripts, and people are going to start getting acceptances and rejections. It’s going to take me at least two weeks to get through all the remaining material (another 2000 emails were waiting for me today when I hooked up my computer).

Once I get unpacked, I’ll really ramp up the speed.

I’m looking forward to getting to work on all this material.

Denise

31 Comments leave one →
  1. trishstewart permalink
    October 26, 2010 7:39 pm

    Glad you made it safely to Houston! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. October 26, 2010 7:44 pm

    Denise,
    My landlord is putting in new windows, right in front of my desk. Everything is chaos. I sympathize with you. Good luck with unpacking. Too bad you can’t twitch your nose and have it done. Or can you?

  3. October 26, 2010 7:50 pm

    90 degrees? I’m mortally jealous. It snowed here yesterday. Snow! 2000 emails makes you super popular, right? Don’t let it go to your head. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. October 26, 2010 7:55 pm

    Whew, I can sense your exhaustion! If your energy and dedication to your writers is remotely close to what I’ve read so far… you’re the agent for me! I’ll let you get through the 2,000 e-mails before sending out my query.

  5. October 26, 2010 8:01 pm

    Whew, I can sense your exhaustion! If your energy and dedication to your writers is remotely close to what I’ve read about you so far… you’re the agent for me!

    I’ll let you get through the 2,000 email before sending out my query. : )

  6. Debra Anastasia permalink
    October 26, 2010 8:04 pm

    Glad to hear you got there safe!

  7. Chris Eberle permalink
    October 26, 2010 8:06 pm

    Glad to hear the move’s over with. Hopefully nothing broke amid transport. Cant wait to hear from you one way or the other. (But crossing fingers & toes for the one way)

  8. October 26, 2010 8:08 pm

    Welcome back to Texas! Mind sending some of that heat up north? In the Texas Panhandle, it’s been getting a little chilly.

  9. Jennie permalink
    October 26, 2010 8:12 pm

    Take your time!!! Enjoy the warm weather and the holiday!

    Hehehehehe, if you’re planning on sending me a rejection, could you save it till AFTER the holiday so I can get lots of chocolate on sale? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Of course, I’ll also have the candy from my kids’ trick-or-treating to steal from, too. A parent’s privilage, right?

    Seriously, though, take your time. I’d hate to hear you’ve snapped and started hurling pencils at anyone who mentions the words “query” or “manuscript”. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or, worse yet, throw the computer out the window…

  10. October 26, 2010 8:16 pm

    I’m very happy to hear that you’ve arrived safely! Take the unpacking one day at a time. The worst thing I did when moving was try to unpack everything in one day! Drove me insane!

    As far as the queries and mss (my fingers and toes are crossed for sure), take your time as well and don’t worry about speeding through them. We’re writers, waiting is just part of the process. No worries!

  11. October 26, 2010 8:24 pm

    Welcome to Houston! Just found your blog, and I look forward to following you . . . and hopefully querying you in about two months ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. October 26, 2010 9:53 pm

    (Crossing fingers and trying to avoid sending another stupid email!)

    Glad to see you are settling in! My cousin lives in Dallas and he tells us we just don’t understand the heat there. He’s right.

    Good luck with everything!

  13. Michelle permalink
    October 26, 2010 10:13 pm

    Glad you made it to Houston!

  14. October 26, 2010 11:39 pm

    Denise,

    Glad you finally made it. Hope it is smooth sailing from here on in. I can’t wait to hear from you. I’m crossing everything I’ve got.

  15. October 26, 2010 11:41 pm

    Denise,

    Glad you finally made it. Hope it is smooth sailing from here on in. I canโ€™t wait to hear from you. Iโ€™m crossing everything Iโ€™ve got.

  16. marilynn larew permalink
    October 26, 2010 11:52 pm

    Glad you arrived safely. If you can find the coffee pot, you’re good to go. The rest isn’t going anywhere, so you can do it whenever you have time.

    We were gypsies. I went to 14 schools before I got out of high school, but the last time I moved, I swore they would have to carry me out to my funeral.

  17. Christie permalink
    October 27, 2010 12:49 am

    Best of luck in Houston! I totally sympathize with the heat.

  18. October 27, 2010 12:58 am

    So happy you made it safe and sound. I”m looking forward to the cold front. I’m tired of the heat and need a break here. Sadly, we need rain as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ah, well, maybe we will get snow again this year.

    Much speed on your unpacking and settling in. Glad to have you in the state. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. October 27, 2010 1:57 am

    Woo hoo! 90 degrees is not so bad. Just think of all the snow and ice you won’t have to deal with this winter.

    I am going to try to keep from refreshing the email every five minutes and calling home to check messages now that you said you were sending out replies.

    Gulp.

    Someone pass the chocolate!

  20. leiarice permalink
    October 27, 2010 2:13 am

    Yay! Welcome back to internetland.

  21. October 27, 2010 2:27 am

    I hope you’ll take a little time to unwind. Moving is a huge undertaking–especially cross country.

  22. October 27, 2010 9:20 am

    I am happy for your safe arrival. I am sure you are anxious to have your unpacking behind you. I loved Houston when I lived in Texas. Here it is dropping down to low thirty-degree temperatures. If you have an empty box, fill it with warm air and send it to me :-).

  23. October 27, 2010 10:35 am

    I’m glad to hear you made it safely. Who had the pleasure of driving the Uhaul? I know even though my husband is completely capable, when we moved into another state, I chose to drive the 26′ moving truck with our life in tow. Something about it was very empowering. Considered dropping my job in education to be a professional truck driver, but then decided my need to eat candy while driving would be no good for my figure!

    Hopefully the 2000 emails isn’t too overwhelming and you will find some future greats in there!

  24. October 27, 2010 11:42 am

    Glad to hear you arrived. Don’t rush things–you have a lot to handle, and we all understand if it takes a while to get through everything. Your undaunting enthusiasm is amazing.

  25. Danielle DeVor permalink
    October 27, 2010 12:38 pm

    Very glad you made it there safely! I know that all of us completely understand that it is going to take some time to get through all the query letters and manuscripts.

    Make sure to check out Kiran’s Indian restaurant on Westheimer. I’m sure you’ll love it!

  26. Sally permalink
    October 27, 2010 5:19 pm

    Well, I’m glad you landed safely. Here’s a welcome link:

    http://www.houstonpress.com/slideshow/robb-walshs-100-favorite-houston-dishes-30653644/

    It’s Robb Walsh’s top 100 Houston dishes. The husband and I are going to be in Houston this weekend and our goal is to fit in as many as possible in 48 hours. If we weren’t so busy–this is hard work, of course, since I’m a food writer of a sort–I would offer my unpacking services.

  27. October 27, 2010 5:42 pm

    I always get to this site by Googling “Denise Little.” It amuses me that over the past month, as more and more people have checked in to see the status of their queries, I’ve seen this blog move from 8th position to the 1st result.

  28. Charlie Holmberg permalink
    October 27, 2010 7:26 pm

    Good luck! And I envy your weather!

  29. October 27, 2010 11:10 pm

    Whew, it’s 92 degrees here in Florida, so I feel your pain. We were supposed to have a cold front last week, but it really felt more like a slight breeze. :\

    I was wondering if you have a stance yet on re-querying? Since I sent you my manuscript, I’ve had a revision suggestion that led to a breakthrough edit on the first chapter, changing up the pace and bringing the main conflict in straight at the very first sentence. I emailed you a few days ago about sending in the revision, but in the 2,000 letter deluge, I’m worried it’s gotten hopelessly lost in the shuffle, and I’d hate to lose you as an agent because I sent my manuscript in a step before it was ready!

  30. October 28, 2010 6:21 am

    Glad you’ve arrived safely!

    I’ll go out on a limb and guess you’re not coming to WFC tomorrow.

    You will be missed!

    Hope you settle in comfortable and enjoy being back in Texas.

    Later,
    Laura

  31. October 30, 2010 5:30 am

    Welcome to Houston,

    When my wife became pregnant with our youngest boy, we were both in the military. Almost everyone in our battalion went to Fort Bliss, Texas, for a full month. The heat cracked our lips, charred our necks and made it difficult to do so much arduous labor. Each night that I slept, I couldn’t stop missing home, my wife and the baby I hadn’t yet met.

    Someday I hope to come to Houston and actually enjoy it.

    Those are a lot of manuscripts for you to go through. I don’t know how you do it. From what I understand, agents have a to-do pile, not list. Good luck getting through so much work. Editing can get like that sometimes too. I am so happy to be done.

    Good luck finding diamonds,

    Draven Ames

Leave a Reply

