Skip to content

Working hard!

November 1, 2010

I’m reading as fast as I can. But I’ve got a whole lot to get through. New material is also coming in. You should start seeing a lot of replies from me. I’ve almost finished unpacking. Another 20 boxes and I’m done. Yesterday and today I spent solely on work and laundry.

We’ve had a cool front blow through, and it’s helped amazingly. It’s been 80 during the day, and in the 40s at night.

Now I’m reading and working the rest of the week in daytime hours, and unpacking at night while it’s cool. Air conditioning helps take the edge off the heat, but it’s out there lurking. I’m praying for fall weather.

Denise

49 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 1:19 am

    Awww, not watching the World Series?

  2. Sandra Foy permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:24 am

    Wish we had that 80 degrees here in New England. Took my boys trick-or-treating and boy was it chilly.

  3. November 1, 2010 1:31 am

    Denise I know the weather takes some getting used to as the heat in TX is so much different than heat anywhere else.

    You take the time you need to get through your unpacking and settling in. Speaking as someone that has queried you, I’m willing to wait patiently while you get settled in. I know the feeling of living surrounded by boxes and it’s awful.

  4. leiarice permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:37 am

    Look forward to hearing from you! I’ve been a busy girl. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Eve Paludan permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:40 am

    Hi Denise,
    Thank you for the update on your progress. I look forward to hearing from you.
    Best Wishes,
    Eve Paludan

  6. Meradeth permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:46 am

    Thanks for the update–it really means a lot! Good luck with your unpacking ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. R.J. Rosatte permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:49 am

    Happy Halloween, Denise. May the Great Pumpkin smile on you! RJ

  8. Michelle permalink
    November 1, 2010 8:32 am

    You’ve made darn good progress with unpacking. Only 20 left? Took me weeks!

  9. November 1, 2010 9:08 am

    Thank you Denise for the update. I am hard at work on the second book in my trilogy and loving it as much as the first.

  10. November 1, 2010 12:13 pm

    The weather gods must have heard your plea. It’s supposed to cool off after tomorrow.

  11. Danielle DeVor permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:02 pm

    I know that my friend who lives in houston either eats things she can cook in the microwave or she east out until the heat dissipates a bit. She makes alot of veggie pizza’s with premade crusts and cream cheese for the sauce with all different types of veggies on top with a little bit of cheddar sprinkled on top of that.

    Take your time. We understand you have tons of manuscripts to read through. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • November 2, 2010 7:45 am

      That pizza sounds so good! Now what do you mean cream cheese for the sauce? As in, mixed in with the standard tomato sauce, or forgoing tomato-based sauces and just using cream cheese?

      Denise, I hope you don’t mind me hijacking the comments for a second to get a recipe here. I’m hungry. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Danielle DeVor permalink
        November 2, 2010 2:55 pm

        It’s actually just cream cheese mixed with a packet of hidden valley ranch mix. You spread it on the pizza crust in place of the sauce. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. November 1, 2010 2:08 pm

    Denise,

    Glad to hear the temps are going to be cooler. 80’s is better then 90’s and the nights sound nice. It’s cool here in New England. Days are cool nights are cold. Take your time with the reading. Altough I have to admit, I can’t wait to hear from you.

  13. November 1, 2010 2:15 pm

    Good luck settling in. I’m a Wisconsin girl who’s lived a lot of places and loved them all. My six month stay in Houston was NOT favorite experience. It’s a different world.

  14. November 1, 2010 3:58 pm

    Hey cutie. Just say you’re already sending out lots of replies now, even though you’re also still reading, unpacking etc. You’re dealing with so many thousands, if you say you’re sending them, nobody will know the difference! (wink)

    Take care of you.

    ~smooch!~

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 3, 2010 3:26 pm

      Good advice–But I really, really am reading.

      Next time, though….

      Denise

      • November 5, 2010 1:27 pm

        Denise,

        You said we should be seeing a lot of replys from you. Are you emailing, or calling people?

      • Denise Little permalink*
        November 5, 2010 6:01 pm

        Some of each.

        Denise

  15. November 1, 2010 4:25 pm

    Glad to see you’re settling in. Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Peace,

    Andrew

  16. November 1, 2010 5:49 pm

    I’m jealous! I want that heat – LOVE THE HEAT!! lol

    I’m in Toronto Canada, and Fall has definitely settled in. We actually had snow on Halloween. I was not impressed. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Glad to read that you’re more or less settling in with the house and work. I’m going to wait a little bit until you’ve caught up with your queries, manuscripts, etc.

    Take care, Char

  17. November 1, 2010 7:32 pm

    Like the scent of a great spice slicing through the air, any dish correctly cooked is worth waiting for much like a good agent representing your work. Patience rules and is always worth the wait.

  18. November 2, 2010 8:20 pm

    Trying my best to stop refreshing my email.

  19. November 3, 2010 1:51 am

    i must say denise i am very envious. its 28 degrees here lol. quick question…i accidentally sent the wrong ms ( the unedited version!!!!). i sent the real one, but am pateiently waiting for a response before the rejection. am i totally doomed?

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 3, 2010 3:25 pm

      Quite a few people have sent multiple versions. I always read the latest.

      Don’t worry.

      Denise

      • EEG permalink
        November 4, 2010 5:06 pm

        I was also wondering if I could send you a slightly revised version, but I’d hate to bug you since you are obviously very, very busy… Can I send it with the agreement that if you’ve already read my ms you won’t bother? Thanks!

      • Denise Little permalink*
        November 16, 2010 6:35 pm

        Sure, send the revised version. Just note that it’s a revised versin in the email. That’ll be fine.

        Denise

      • EEG permalink
        November 4, 2010 10:01 pm

        Never mind, I apologize for posting. If we all start sending you revised ms you’ll never be done!! I can’t erase my post now, though. So please don’t “moderate” it, just erase (this one too). Thanks!

  20. C. Pepper permalink
    November 3, 2010 1:40 pm

    The weather is getting better here in Louisiana too. It is amazing what the change in temp and humidity can do to the soul. Good luck and enjoy the reading. I wish I could help. ~Christie

  21. JD Lerud permalink
    November 4, 2010 2:44 am

    I’ve thought about what you must be going through quite a bit, with moving and the new job with its flood of submissions and emails, and all of it. Just know that I think you’re amazing to be so on top of things. Keep up the great work!

  22. November 6, 2010 6:49 pm

    Will you look at multiple submissions from the same writer?

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 16, 2010 6:18 pm

      Of course. I like knowing a person has a list of projects under construction…

      But send them attached to one email, if it isn’t already too late for that. If it is, send what you’ve got again, all attached to the same email. That way I can load it into a single file under your name, and know it’s the same person.

      I’ve already got two sets of submissions by the same person’s name, but different addresses, so I’m assuming different people.

  23. November 9, 2010 2:01 am

    No updates for a few days. She’s working hard folks.

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 16, 2010 6:16 pm

      I’m drowning in submissions. Luckily, I’m a good swimmer.

      Denise

  24. November 9, 2010 2:49 am

    Glad you are getting settled in Denise. I can’t wait to hear as I”m sure others are. Thankfully for me, I’m participating in NaNo this year and writing a thriller/horror. Total leap for me in some respects. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you enjoy all the stories!

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 16, 2010 6:15 pm

      I plan to!

      Denise

  25. November 9, 2010 8:12 pm

    Hope all’s well, Denise! You must be feeling a bit more at home now, one unpacked box at a time.

    Good luck in your search for more clients!

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 16, 2010 6:15 pm

      I’m looking as fast as I can.

      Denise

  26. Rhonda S. Garcia permalink
    November 15, 2010 11:28 pm

    Hope you’re all settled in now! Thanks for keeping us in the know ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 16, 2010 6:14 pm

      Yes–though I still have 4 boxes of office stuff to unpack.

  27. November 16, 2010 2:56 am

    I am sure you are swamped. Many like me are sitting on pins and needles [at least when there isn’t a hockey game] waiting to hear

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 16, 2010 6:14 pm

      Yep–swamped is the word.

      I’m working hard to catch up.

      Denise

  28. Jessica permalink
    November 16, 2010 5:13 am

    Did she get fired already?

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 16, 2010 6:13 pm

      Nope, not yet. Just buried under emails and submissions. I’m averaging over a thousand emails a day. I hope it cools off a bit soon. I’m crazed.

  29. November 16, 2010 4:26 pm

    Fifteen days of silence.

    I hope this is a good sign, meaning that you’re so enthralled reading our first chapters, you have no time to blog.

    Best wishes!

    Carmen

    http://carmenferreiroesteban.wordpress.com/

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 16, 2010 6:12 pm

      That’s exactly what it means…

      Denise

  30. Thabo Nkomo permalink
    November 16, 2010 7:20 pm

    Hi Denise,

    I sent my original query on October 1, but I also know that you’ve been very busy with the move to Houston. Should I resend, or just figure you got it and wait?

    Best,

    Thabo

  31. Robert Cormo permalink
    November 24, 2010 7:19 pm

    If we sent a submission over a month ago, but haven’t received a request for moreโ€”should we just assume rejection?

    • Denise Little permalink*
      November 26, 2010 11:27 pm

      Nope. I’m working through over a thousand emails a day, about a half with QUeries attached to them.

      I”m working as fast as I can, but there’s an overwhelming load of incoming stuff.

      Right now I’m concentrating on getting through the early submissions. Then I’ll get to the next load of queries.

      So hold tight.

      Everybody will hear from me.

      Denise

Leave a Reply

