Skip to content

The deluge continues!

December 15, 2010

I’m getting about 1600 emails a day. I’m trying to keep up, but I took the weekend up and my emailbox filled up entirely.

I got through another 1000 emails this afternoon, and it keeps filling in as fast as I work through it!

I’m working hard and making headway. I have currently signed 19 clients. I’m in process of sending out their manuscripts for publisher submission now.

I’ve read most of the submitted novels.

I’m still loving this job, so I must be a glutton for punishment.

Denise

62 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 9:49 pm

    Woo hoo, for having read most everything (and gulp!)

    I can’t even imagine getting that many emails. Bet you didn’t think you’d need your snow shovel out in Texas- but you might need it to plow through all those emails! (yes, I realize the lameness of that joke).

    • Denise Little permalink*
      December 15, 2010 9:58 pm

      I gave the snow gear to my neighbor.

      But I do need some clearance for the emails. Working, working, working.

      Denise

  2. December 15, 2010 9:50 pm

    I’m afraid to ask, but will anyway: can you tell us what date you’re at in your pile?

    • Denise Little permalink*
      December 15, 2010 9:57 pm

      December 3.

      I’ve got a lot of good stuff set aside to go through again. I’ll have all the acceptances out 1st week in January. I have a bunch of sorted rejection files, with like problems in sperate files. Those will go out with useful letters before Christmas.

      Denise

      • Chad permalink
        December 15, 2010 10:06 pm

        You can forget my other post. I thought to be the first to comment but I guess by the time I finished someone had beat me to it with the same question. Might I be correct then in assuming that if you are up to Dec 3rd and someone sent over a query before that date and didn’t get a request for a submission of material than you’re not interested in the work in question?

      • Denise Little permalink*
        December 15, 2010 10:08 pm

        You’ll hear from me soon, yes or no.

        If you haven’t heard, it’s not because I’m not interested.

        It’s because I’ve got a lot to get through.

        Denise

  3. December 15, 2010 9:56 pm

    Thanks for keeping us updated. Maybe Santa will empty your inbox for you for Christmas. Have a great Holiday.

  4. Chad permalink
    December 15, 2010 10:01 pm

    Ms. Little,

    Thank you for taking the time in letting people know where you are in the process. From your earlier comments on your previous post and then this latest update it sounds like you are getting through the queries–at least most of them before another batch flies through the inbox and into the space you’ve cleared out for them. Kinda like shoveling snow during a blizzard, I’d imagine 🙂 And coming from MN I can relate to that these last few days.

    Might it be possible to inquire if you have reached a certain date on the queries (i.e. “I’ve read all the queries up to Oct 7th”, etc)? I know some agents who list this information on their blogs and it helps to keep a tab on where things are in the process and keeps the additional emails back to them for status checks to a minimum as well.

    Thanks for your time and posts. The information that is shared is quite helpful.

    • Denise Little permalink*
      December 15, 2010 10:04 pm

      I’m doing the whole manuscripts I’ve got first. Then the stacked Queries are next.

      Denise

      • Chad permalink
        December 15, 2010 10:08 pm

        Thanks for the repeat reply (see above). You answered my other question too with this one. Thanks for putting up with me and my lack of chronological skills. I’ll get the hang of this blog posting soon enough… 🙂 Have a Wonderful Christmas then in the mean time (you should take that off at least for the sake of sanity).

        Chad

      • JD Lerud permalink
        December 18, 2010 7:43 pm

        What about those, like myself, whom you requested only three chapters from? Are those included in your whole manuscripts pile? And, since I have an updated version of the story (I’ve been picking away at it during my waiting time), should I bother to send that to you?

  5. December 15, 2010 10:03 pm

    Thank you for the update. You must be exhausted! You get back to the emails so quickly, I’m amazed! Thank you for the opportunity to submit the revision and it should be in your inbox next week. 🙂

    Have a wonderful holiday season!

  6. December 15, 2010 10:09 pm

    Denise, YOU are such an inspiration. I don’t know how you manage it all AND keep your sense of humor! You’re doing an amazing job.

  7. December 15, 2010 10:36 pm

    Denise,
    Thank you for being such an optimistic and friendly person. Whether you offer any of us representation or not, it’s nice to know that there ARE literary agents in this world that care about those of us that are trying so hard to become published.

  8. December 15, 2010 11:51 pm

    I can’t even imagine the piles of papers you have. Just remember to take your time and enjoy your holiday. I know for myself I’m willing to be patient.

  9. December 16, 2010 2:15 am

    Denise,

    It’s so nice to hear from you. I’m glad the pile of manuscripts have not taken over and you still have control over them.

    I was wondering. I know Ethan Ellenburg has clients who write YA ,and you are interested in YA but I was wondering if that includes children’s books? I wasn’t sure if I should query you on my children ‘ book or not. Since you asked for a partial of my YA book I didn’t know if this was also something you would be interested in. Please Advise.

  10. John permalink
    December 16, 2010 2:46 am

    LOL I hope you have helpers to read your emails! 1600 a day! Good luck!

  11. December 16, 2010 2:56 am

    1600 emails a day? That’s unreal.

  12. December 16, 2010 4:57 am

    Enjoy the upcoming holidays, Denise, and give yourself the gift of time to relax… the New Year will be here before we know it. May 2011 bring you happiness, success and good cheer.

  13. December 16, 2010 7:32 am

    Hello Denise,

    A thousand emails a day—gosh how do you find the time to work? I receive around one hundred messages /day and I am fast at deleting the ones that do not interest me, read the others and still have time to continue writing on my second novel. I guess we both have passion for our craft and I admire you for that. Keep smiling.
    Edwin D Ferretti III

  14. December 16, 2010 11:52 am

    Thanks so much for the update! It’s so very considerate of you to keep posting here, especially with your email deluge. Maybe Santa can spare a few elves to help you with your inbox!

  15. Danielle DeVor permalink
    December 16, 2010 1:04 pm

    Denise,

    That’s insane that you have that many e-mails per day. It’s a shame you don’t have an e-mail robot to sort them all for you!

    Hope you get time to enjoy the holiday season!

  16. December 16, 2010 1:33 pm

    I can’t imagine getting so many emails a day. I’m so glad you still like the job!

    Good luck getting through all of it.

  17. December 17, 2010 1:37 am

    I admire your stamina. Be sure you take time to relax over the holidays. Thanks for your interest & encouragement for all of us!

    • yeswecan permalink
      December 17, 2010 4:18 am

      Denise, I hope you give us late queriers a chance before you fill your client list! I didn’t submit a query until late October but by then you’d already requested hundreds of mss. (I only check Query Tracker once a month or so…)

      BTW are all or most of those 1600 e-mails new queries or general biz? If so, I’m amazed there are so many hopefuls out there with ready mss. and amazed you can keep your head above water. Best of luck!

  18. R.J. Rosatte permalink
    December 17, 2010 9:28 pm

    Well, Merry Christmas from here in the Great White North. I f you should send me an email and I don’t respond within 2 minutes, it’s because I have left my post to refill my wine glass or to use the washroom. Best Wishes to all! Randy Rosatte

    • Sandra Foy permalink
      December 18, 2010 1:37 am

      lol. Nice comment.

      • R.J. Rosatte permalink
        December 18, 2010 3:39 pm

        Thank you.. thank you very much..

  19. JD Lerud permalink
    December 18, 2010 7:47 pm

    I’m also impressed with the amazing amount of work you’re doing. It’s nice to know that there are people out there like you, who enjoy the publishing business enough to put up with all of the hassles. Keep up the good work, and keep smiling!

    • Denise Little permalink*
      December 18, 2010 8:42 pm

      It’s a privilege and honor to deal in dreams.

      • JD Lerud permalink
        December 19, 2010 12:14 am

        That’s fantastic! I have a dream… 🙂

  20. December 18, 2010 11:52 pm

    Hi Denise,
    If I sent you a query back in October and haven’t heard from you…

    I know you are insanely busy and I sent it to you while you were in the midst of your move, so I would not be surprised if things have slipped between the cracks. At the same time I don’t want to add another email to your already prodigious inbox unnecessarily .

  21. Noah Beit-Aharon permalink
    December 19, 2010 2:07 pm

    “I’ll have all the acceptances out 1st week in January. I have a bunch of sorted rejection files, with like problems in sperate files. Those will go out with useful letters before Christmas.”

    Oh jeez, now you have me hoping NOT to hear from you soon! How did you do that?

    • December 19, 2010 3:37 pm

      You and me both Noah! Seems no one understands or wants to chance this MS of mine. I sometimes wonder if it is because of the content and such 😦 Ah well, guess we all shall see.

      Fingers crossed for all who are still waiting. 🙂

    • December 20, 2010 8:51 pm

      I agree Noah.

      It’s the first time I’m wishing not to hear from an agent. At least not until after Christmas.

      It’s weird, isn’t it?

      http://carmenferreiroesteban.wordpress.com/

      • Denise Little permalink*
        December 20, 2010 8:58 pm

        Snicker. I’m drowning in good material–it’s making choosing hard.

      • Chris Eberle permalink
        December 22, 2010 7:56 pm

        I know exactly how you’re feeling, since I’m feeling the same way. I cant wait to hear from Denise, but I’m hoping as we all are it wont be for another week or so. I’m just wondering one thing; Denise are you finding anything that could be a potential best seller or be up there with some of the authors we all have followed?

      • December 24, 2010 6:43 am

        Happy Holidays!

  22. leiarice permalink
    December 20, 2010 11:48 am

    I don’t know how you do it, but I’m thankful that you do! 🙂

  23. RS Garcia permalink
    December 20, 2010 6:47 pm

    So happy to hear you’re managing to make progress under all that! It’s amazing you’re so willing to read so many fulls and really give them consideration. I’m on pins and needles of course, but it helps knowing how hard you’re trying to give everyone a fair go.

  24. Harriet Schultz permalink
    December 20, 2010 11:48 pm

    Denise: “I’m drowning in good material–it’s making choosing hard.”

    Me: “Pick me! Pick me!”

    You can tell that waiting for your decision is making many of us a little nutty (cashews, almonds, macadamias), but in a good way.

    • Jeff Salyards permalink
      December 21, 2010 8:26 pm

      Well, if you’re going to drown, better in good material than in egg nog. Well, marginally better, anyway.

      Happy holidays everyone!

  25. December 21, 2010 2:35 am

    Yay! Glad you’re loving the job so much and so glad you’re finding a lot of material you like!

    • R.J. Rosatte permalink
      December 22, 2010 2:45 pm

      Congratulations, Kelley! What a great Christmas present. Let’s hope the joy gets spread even further!

    • December 23, 2010 3:05 am

      Definately Congratz Kelley. I’m sure we are all envious of you but wish you the best of luck!

      *crawls back to her keyboard to finish the first draft of her thriller wip*

      Hope everyone has a wonderful holiday season!

  26. December 22, 2010 7:42 pm

    Maybe there’ll be a festivus for the rest of us….

  27. December 22, 2010 11:21 pm

    I want to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. My sequal to my first finished manuscript is at the 50% point so I am already happy. I will concetrate on celebrating Christmas and the New Year. -:)

  28. Marian Crane permalink
    December 23, 2010 12:47 am

    Thanks for the update, Denise. You’ve really hurtled out of the gate on this one — almost twenty clients already! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas, and don’t burn out.

    Following your comments here and on AW has been an education. I’m one of those who queried you before October, with a query that I now see wasn’t as good as the earlier versions (according to another agent who saw both, and just gave me a ‘maybe’.) So I’ll watch and learn, and cheer on the folks who get to the finish line.

    Keep reading, and we’ll look forward to seeing your clients’ books sometime!

    Marian Crane

  29. Steve permalink
    December 24, 2010 5:10 am

    I wish everyone a happy and safe holiday! Denise, good luck at your new position and may the new year bring you much success.

  30. Ella permalink
    December 27, 2010 6:02 am

    I know I’m not the only one thinking it,
    but I’m wondering if not all the rejections have gone out yet?
    That’s not to be insensitive to the awesome load of work you are undertaking,
    but that comment gave me hope (and made me obsessively check my email!)…
    can you update us?
    Pretty Please!

  31. Harriet Schultz permalink
    December 29, 2010 2:00 pm

    Just wondering.

    • Denise Little permalink*
      December 29, 2010 5:32 pm

      I’ve spent the holiday reading and working.

      I’ve signed 21 clients so far.

      • Chris Eberle permalink
        December 29, 2010 7:07 pm

        Here’s to being lucky #22 LOL

      • December 29, 2010 7:11 pm

        dibs on #23

      • Sara permalink
        December 29, 2010 8:27 pm

        I’ll take #24 please.

  32. December 29, 2010 8:16 pm

    I’m guessing then at this point that no news is good news since you said rejection letters were going out before Christmas?

    • Chris Eberle permalink
      December 29, 2010 8:22 pm

      Amen to that Cynthia.

  33. December 29, 2010 10:36 pm

    She didn’t say all rejections would be out by now just the ones “with like problems”, not to be a wet blanket or anything… :-/

  34. December 29, 2010 10:42 pm

    Thank you for giving us all a chance by reading so many submissions. Of course it’s taking a while and it must be very hard to judge how long it will take. Since you have some clients now, you have even less time to spend on e-mails and queries, yet you promise you’ll get to them all eventually. I, for one, appreciate it!

  35. December 29, 2010 11:11 pm

    When I was a little girl I prayed for God to give me patience. God has a ridiculously long memory. Still no word…really hopeful that is good news.

    Thank you, Denise for being so dedicated to work through the holidays. I look forward to hearing from you.

  36. February 24, 2011 6:46 pm

    Good God! 1,600 e-mails daily? It boggles the mind to think so many debut writers are looking for representation every day.

Leave a Reply

